top of page

Back To School Snacks


Yep, it's that time of year again! Lunches, after school snacks, and birthday treats...the battle to find healthy but "acceptable" snacks your kids will enjoy. My daughter always wanted to eat "like the other kids", but many times that included things she couldn't or shouldn't eat. Since that wasn't an option, I had to find a solution. If this was my battle, I'm sure it's yours too. Thankfully there are a lot of options out there that will allow our kids to be healthy without feeling deprived. Let me share with you some of our favorite snacks that are sure to keep you and your kiddos happy (and off the battlefield) this school year. My criteria? No artificial colors, flavors or preservatives, no high fructose corn syrup, no wheat, and nothing with GMO's. Organic is always what I prefer but I will concede occasionally as long as it meets the rest of my criteria. For instance, Simple Mills products aren't all organic but they don't use anything artificial, have very simple ingredients and I have looked into their sourcing/farming practices. Another exception to my rule is candy and fruit snacks. They are not ever going to be considered healthy but I know kids (ok, WE) are gonna eat them at times, so I try to have a healthier option available. Yum Earth is one of the better options out there. They still use rice syrup and natural flavors, which I would not eat on a regular basis, but as an occasional treat I won't worry about it. (In case you're wondering about why I avoid natural flavors- take a quick look at this article. https://www.ewg.org/foodscores/content/natural-vs-artificial-flavors/)


Hopefully knowing my criteria will help you as you go shopping. In the meantime, here are just a few ideas to get you started. Happy snacking!



  • Thrive Barbecue Potato Chips- Non-GMO and kettle cooked in avocado oil with nothing artificial. Other varieties offered and some are cooked in coconut oil.

  • Simple Mills Sea Salt Crackers- made with 8 simple ingredients. Try the Farmhouse Cheddar- just like a Cheez-it but so much better! Available in 6 flavors and snack packs too! Perfect for school or on the go!

  • Pure Organic Fruit Bars- real fruit purees and real fruit juice.

  • Simple Mills Sweet Thins- tastes just like a cinnamon Teddy Graham! Available in Chocolate and Chocolate Mint too.

  • Bare Organic Apple Chips- crunchy and sweet but no added sugar.

  • Yum Earth Organic Fruit Snacks- No artificial colors, flavors, or sugar.

  • That's It- Fruit bars with 2 simple ingredients- all fruit.

  • Pur Gum- No artificial colors or flavors; sweetened with Xylitol. Bubble Gum, Peppermint, Wintergreen and Spearmint.

  • Yum Earth Lollipops- No artificial colors, flavors or sugar.

  • Paleovalley Beef and Pork Sticks- Organic, naturally fermented grass fed meat with organic spices. Nothing artificial, and no gluten, soy, corn, or MSG. 5 flavors of beef, 2 for turkey, and 1 for pork.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page