top of page

Eat This, Not That


When people find out that I don’t eat grains or dairy they inevitably ask me three questions. What DO you eat, don’t you feel deprived, and isn't that expensive? Those questions are usually followed by a quick, “I could never do that.” Most people think my diet is very restrictive, hard to follow and boring. They’re usually very surprised when I tell them I still eat cookies, chips, crackers and even pizza! I just eat a cleaner version. While I’m not suggesting you need to go gluten free, or give up grains and dairy, you may be curious as to how to incorporate healthy eating into your regular routine. You may even wonder if you have to give up all your favorite foods. Trust me, I get it, and that's actually one of the reasons I decided to start my blog. I want you to know that today there is a healthier version of just about every food category out there. You love Oreos? Simple Mills makes a cleaner version that is delicious! Are Doritos or Tostitos your go to snack? Siete makes tortilla chips in a Ranch, Nacho, Fuego, and Sea Salt version that will satisfy those cravings. I also am a firm believer in following the 90/10 rule. That means that I am eating clean most of the time but if I choose to “cheat” for a meal or for a day, I don’t sweat it. Maybe you’ll make your rule more like 80/20 or pick one day per week that you can eat whatever you want. Everyone is different. My point is, you don’t have to look at eating healthy as giving up everything you like. And it’s not as hard as you think. Plus, once you start to get the artificial things out of your diet, your tastebuds will change and adapt too, making you crave the healthier things. As for the cost, well yes, unfortunately eating healthier is usually more expensive. I think it's extremely unfair, since the healthier I am the less I have to spend on health care. But I won't get on my soap box about that right now! Instead, I'll challenge you to think of it this way: You can pay for your health now or later. And paying for it later usually is way more expensive. I'll just leave that one there for you to chew on for a bit. Having said that, I can show you ways to save and places to shop that will make managing your new budget a little easier. And if you start making some of your own cleaning products, you'll be amazed at how much you can save!


Now I would love for everyone to learn how to read labels so they can determine what is and isn’t a good choice. Quick hint: steer clear of fake sugars like high fructose corn syrup and aspartame, hydrogenated oils, canola oil and artificial ingredients. If you don’t know what most of the ingredients are or can’t pronounce them, I highly recommend you put it back on the shelf! And look for a simple, short list. If it's a mile long, and sounds more like a science experiment than food, my vote is to skip it! However, I’ve been told by a few friends that they don’t want to study labels or know about why certain ingredients are bad. “Tell me what I should buy and I’ll get it, because I trust you.” Ok, fair. A list of eat this, not that is what you prefer. Below you’ll see some of my suggestions for some healthier snacks/treats, which you can find at (most) Whole Foods, Costco, and local grocery stores. Another option is to check out Thrive Market. This online grocery store will give you access to the brand names you love for less. Use this referral link to save 40% on your first order (you'll be helping me save money too with the credit I earn! Thank you in advance!). http://thrv.me/xg7ZBX


For those of you who DO want to learn a little more about which ingredients to avoid and which are safe, I'll be posting more about that soon, so be sure to be on the lookout! In the meantime, give one of these try and see if you don't find yourself pleasantly surprised as you munch your way to a healthier you.































35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page